American Institute of Building Design - The American Residential Design Awards Houzz
Facebook LinkedIn Twiiter RSS Feed
ARDA Mission: America's Top Residential Design Competition Award Winning Designs - AIBD - The American Residential Desing Awards Stock Plans Sales -  House Plan Marking Alliance Certification - The National Council of Building Designer Certification
2012 ARDA Winners 2012 ARDA Winners 2012 ARDA Winners 2012 ARDA Winners 2012 ARDA Winners 2011 ARDA Winners 2010 ARDA Winners 2009 ARDA Winners 2008 ARDA Winners
AIBD Convention
AIBD Convention

ARDA Sponsors - Hanley Wood’s ePlans and File Genius

About the Program

The American Residential Design Awards (ARDA) is the American Institute of Building Design’s premier award program exhibiting design excellence in the residential building industry. It spotlights the most creative and innovative residential designers, builders, remodelers, architects, developers, land planners and interior designers in the nation. Every year, the awards program, sponsored by Hanley Wood’s ePlans, recognizes exceptional design in custom, builder model, pre-drawn and multifamily homes of all types and sizes, as well as remodeling, working drawings and projects “on the boards.” As a leader in home design recognition, the ARDA awards program has grown over the years to include categories in green building, outdoor living and accessibility.

ARDA is an awards program, not a design competition. Therefore, entries are not grouped in square footage or project value classifications. Judging is conducted by a panel of residential design and construction experts and is based on the quality of the entry and not compared to others in a category. However, one or more ARDA winners may be recognized as the overall best in their specific category.

All residential industry professionals are eligible to enter individual or collaborative projects. Entries previously submitted to ARDA are still eligible provided they haven’t yet won recognition in the same category. Entries may be entered in more than one category (e.g. Custom Homes and Green Design) and all completed projects are eligible regardless of their completion date.


· Custom Homes
· Model Homes
· Renovations
· Published Designs
· Multi-Family Design
· Conceptual Design
· Outdoor Living
· Accessible Living
· Green Design
· Working Drawings
· Global Choice


Global Choice AwardsYou be the Judge!

Help choose the American Residential Design Award's Global Choice Award winner. Beginning now and going through August 6, 2015, you can click the link below to view the 2015 Global Choice entries. Set aside a few moments and vote for your favorite. Then make plans to be on hand at the AIBD Awards Gala on August 7th in Providence, Rhode Island.

CLICK HERE to view the 2015 Global Choice Award entries and place your vote!

Voting ends August 6, 2015

Mountainworks Takes Home Both Top Honors

Mountainworks Takes Home Both Top Honors

Travis and Marie Mileti (Pictured between Competition Chairperson Michael Battaglia and Sponsor Hillary Gottemoeller) of Mountainworks Custom Home Design in Cashiers, NC, won both the 2012 Best in Show and Designer’s Choice awards. The Best in Show represents the judges’ choice for the overall best project and the Designer’s Choice is voted on by AIBD Professional Members throughout the country.

Mountainworks Takes Home Both Top Honors

Voters from 15 Countries Determine the Global Choice Award

Danie Van Loggerenberg wins the 2nd Annual Global Choice Award for a multi-family community design. Danie is President of DVL Custom Concepts in the Woodlands, TX, and President of Danie Van Loggerenberg Architecture and Interior Design in South Africa.

Mountainworks Takes Home Both Top Honors

Visbeen Associates are the Big 2012 Winners

The group at Visbeen Associates found their way to the stage twelve times during the 2012 ARDA Awards Dinner at St. Thomas Preservation Hall in Wilmington, NC. Of the assemblage of trophies, some of the most notable are for their First Place Awards in the Builder Model and Published Designs categories. (Photo left to right: Steve Signor, Angela Mulder, David Bolt, and Wayne Visbeen)

2015 Winner      |      2014 Winners       |       2013 Winners       |       2012 Winners       |       2011 Winners
2010 Winners        |          2009 Winners        |       2008 Winners      |      Privacy Policy


Site Design and Hosting by: