American Institute of Building Design
Houzz Facebook LinkedIn Twitter RSS Fee
Member Center Login
AIBD Mission: To enhance, develop, educate and promote the value of the residential design professional | - Creating where people live Award Wining Designs - American Residential Design Awards Stock Plan Sales  - House Plan Marketing Alliance Certification - The National Council of Building Designer Certification
Home - AIBD Find a Designer Chapters Liability Insurance
Community Calendar

AIBD 2016 Summer Conference

August 25-27, 2016

Denver, CO

AIBD Store Contact Us Site Map File A Complaint

Designer of the Year 2012



2012 Designer of the Year Willie Dalrymple receiving his award from Jannis Vann, FAIBD.Wilmington Designer Named 2012 Designer of the Year


Willie Dalrymple of J.W. Dalrymple Residential Design Associates, Wilmington, NC, was named the Designer of the Year by the American Institute of Building Design. Presented by AIBD College of Fellows representative Jannis Vann, the award is in recognition of Mr. Dalrymple’s twelve years of service to the AIBD North Carolina Society as president and conference meeting planner.


"The work is a little involved, but it is worth the effort. Thank you." was all Willie stated when accepting his award. Known for usually having more to say, the short acceptance speech was just as much a shock to the audience as the award was to Willie. "The fact we rendered him speechless shows just how much he appreciates being recognized." says Steve Mickley, AIBD Executive Director.


Given each year at the conclusion of their national convention, the AIBD presents the Designer of the Year Award to the member who has made the most outstanding contribution to the Institute and the community.



Submit a nomination


To nominate an AIBD Professional Member for Designer of the Year, download a Nomination Form and submit it to the AIBD National Office on or before June 1st and your nomination will be considered for the award being presented at the next AIBD National Convention.



Designer of the Year Recipients


2012    J.W. Willie Dalrymple
2011    Richard Emigh
2010    Mike Lotterman
2009    Dan Sater
2008    Michael Battaglia
2007    Jim Pitts
2006    Robert Padgett
2005    Georgia Toney
2004    James Wright
2003    Gordon Hoehle
2002    Sherri Weaver

2001    Mike Keesee
2000    Steve Mickley
1999    Jeff Rice
1998    Joe Stoddard
1997    Jannis Vann
1996    Don Ruth
1995    Bill Hefner
1994    W.D. Farmer




Join AIBD      |      Continuing Education       |      Annual Convention      |      Subscribe to Email List      |      Sustainability      |      Designer of the Year
Find a Design Professional      |     What is a Building Designer?      |      Why Hire a Building Designer?      |      Chapters
Building and Design Resources     |     eLeads     |      Privacy Policy      |      Site Map